PTC Finalists Confirmed

PTC Finalists Confirmed

Now that the 12 Players Tour Championship events are over we now know who will be making the trip to Dublin next March for the finals. Few well established names but loads of newcomers also have made it. The most consistent of which was Shaun Murphy.

Shaun Murphy at EPTC4 in the SWSA arena

The player who made it to the top of the list by earning the most money in the events was world no.4 Shaun Murphy, who had the worst possible start to the events. Loosing to two amateurs in first round matches and loosing a second round match in Sheffield. But as evident in the past, Murphy plays shorter frame matches much better overseas, and won EPTC2 as well as reaching the final of EPTC5, and two further quarter and semi final appearances.

The player leading the list for most of the season was not Murphy or no.2 on the list Mark Selby, but was world no.43 Norwich veteran Barry Pinches. By reaching the final of PTC3, narrowly losing to Mark Selby, and winning PTC4, impressively denying Ronnie O'Sullivan 4-3 in the final. This ensured that he was in the PTC finals next march and kept him top of the list for 7 events.

Other lesser known players through included tour veteran Jack Lisowski. With an impressive junior record and the highest  points score on the pro qualifying tour the previous year, there was always going to be a lot expected of him and he did not disappoint. Reaching the final of PTC2, and two further last 16 appearances ensured of his place in the finals. Also Welsh youngster Jamie Jones also put in a good showing, a final and a last 16 booked him his spot in Dublin also.

Notable players not going to Dublin are World Champion Neil Robertson, Ali Carter, Mark Allen, Graeme Dott, Peter Ebdon and Stephen Hendry all not winning enough matches to get into the top 24. Ding Junhui and John Higgins both won EPTC events but unfortunately they didn't enter enough of them to qualify, 3 PTC and 3 EPTC events needed to reach the finals. Ronnie O'Sullivan also didn't enter enough events or won enough matches to qualify.

The finals are in Dublin in March, more details here. The top eight players will be seeded into the second round, with the ranked 9-24 players having to play an extra match. Prize fund, ranking points tariff and draw to be announced early next year.


Players Tour Championship - Order Of Merit Final Standings

1 Shaun Murphy (w)
2 Mark Selby (w)
3 Barry Pinches (w)
4 Marcus Campbell (w)
5 Judd Trump (w)
6 Mark Williams (w)
7 Dominic Dale (w)
8 Stephen Lee (w)
9 Tom Ford (w)
10 Stephen Maguire
11 Michael Holt (w)
12 Liang Wenbo
13 Martin Gould
14 Ricky Walden
15 Marco Fu
16 Anthony Hamilton
17 Stuart Bingham
18 Jamie Jones
19 Jack Lisowski
20 Andrew Higginson
21 Mark Davis
22 Matthew Stevens
23 Gerard Greene
24 Joe Jogia

(w) = winner of an event

Posted Nov 22, 2010
Discuss this article

comments powered by Disqus

Bookmark with...
Follow Maximum Snooker

Maximum Snooker Twitter Maximum Snooker YouTube Maximum Snooker Facebook

Search Maximum Snooker
Maximum Snooker Twitter

Maximum Snooker Facebook