WPBSA Board Survives Annual Vote

WPBSA Board Survives Annual Vote

The current board of the World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association (WPBSA) has been given a vote of confidence by the voting players at it's AGM in Sheffield today. Amongst those staying on the board is player representative Steve Davis.

Steve Davis


One of the members of the board of the WPBSA is six-time World Champion Steve Davis. Of the players voting at the AGM in Sheffield 26 voted for and 7 voted against, meaning he would stay on the board for at least another year. Steve's job on the board is the player representative and is a popular player on the circuit.

Most importantly though, WPBSA chairman Jason Ferguson survived the bid with a massive margin of 31 votes for and only 3 against. Also staying on included ex-referee Alan Chamberlain and China representative Zhang Xiaoning.

This shows that of the 34 players that showed up (less than half of the WPBSA membership, but with the UK championship near by and the bad weather you can hardly blame them) that most of them support Barry Hearn and his attempts to rejuvenate the sport is working and he can continue to work closely with his elected board for at least the next year to come.

Vote Results:

Jason Ferguson. Votes for: 31 Votes against: 3
Alan Chamberlain. Votes for: 21 Votes against: 11
Steve Davis. Votes for: 26 Votes against: 7
David Douglas. Votes for: 28 Votes against: 5
Zhang Xiaoning. Votes for: 31 Votes against: 3
Les Barton. Votes for: 6 Votes against: 25
Lee Doyle. Votes for: 6 Votes against: 28
Patrick Fagan. Votes for: 4 Votes against: 27
Tony Knowles. Votes for: 7 Votes against: 24
Jim McMahon. Votes for: 4 Votes against: 29
Neil Tomkins. Votes for: 3 Votes against: 28

Posted Dec 2, 2010
Discuss this article

comments powered by Disqus

Bookmark with...
Follow Maximum Snooker

Maximum Snooker Twitter Maximum Snooker YouTube Maximum Snooker Facebook

Search Maximum Snooker
Maximum Snooker Twitter

Maximum Snooker Facebook