Historic Higgins Claims 28th Ranking Title In Daqing

Historic Higgins Claims 28th Ranking Title In Daqing

John Higgins has won the 28th ranking title of his career at the International Championship in Daqing, China, beating surprise finalist David Gilbert 10-5.

Read on for the full article...

This win puts four-time world champion John Higgins second on the the all-time list of ranking title victories, equal with the great Steve Davis, although he is still eight away from Stephen Hendry's tally of 36.

Tamworth's David Gilbert, 36, had never been past the last 16 of a full ranking event before, and started the final off promisingly, fighting from 4-2 down to finish the session only 5-4 behind Higgins.

Once they resumed in the evening, it was the Scot who got the better of the first couple frames, pulling ahead to 7-4 with top breaks of 129 and 88.

John Higgins David Gilbert Snooker International Championship 2015 FinalGilbert pulled one back with a run of 51, but failed to clinch the next frame and Higgins reeled off the next three frames, finishing with breaks of 52 and 56.

“It’s special for me to get to 28 ranking titles,” said the 40-year-old Higgins. “Steve Davis was the player I idolised the most growing up, and never would of dreamed I could equal any of his records. This is a moment I will never forget.”

Gilbert said: “I had my chances but I missed too many and and John kept clearing. It was constantly in the back of my mind not to miss because I knew he’d punish me.

“At least I’m going home with £65,000, which is more money than I’ve ever had. My wife moved into our new house this week so I’m sure she’s already ordering new furniture!”

To see all the results and scores from the International Championship 2015, follow this link.

Next up on the pro tour is the Bulgarian Open, the 4th European Tour event of the season. Follow this link for the draw.


Most Pro Snooker Ranking Titles

John Higgins Snooker International Championship 2015 FinalStephen Hendry 36

John Higgins 28

Steve Davis 28

Ronnie O’Sullivan 27

Mark Williams 18

Ding Junhui 11

Neil Robertson 10

Jimmy White 10

John Parrott 9

Peter Ebdon 9

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Discuss this article

comments powered by Disqus

Bookmark with...
Follow Maximum Snooker

Maximum Snooker Twitter Maximum Snooker YouTube Maximum Snooker Facebook

Search Maximum Snooker
Maximum Snooker Twitter

Maximum Snooker Facebook